Operator report card · RRC P-5 788997
SM Energy Company report card
What the public record shows about SM Energy Company: 931 producing leases in 8 Texas counties, output down 14% on the year, 0 leases gained and 27 left in 24 months. Every line names its source.
- Producing leases931State recordin 8 counties, reported through Jul 2026
- Oil, last 12 months against the 12 before−14%State record33,439,023 bbl
- Leases gained and left, 24 months+0 / −27State recordtaken over from, or passed to, another operator
- Gas vented or flared, last 12 months0.4%State recordshare of gas disposed of by disposition code 4
- Oil price it told investors, Q2 2026−$0.61 vs TexasEIA and SEC$96.85 a barrel, whole company; Texas first purchase $97.46
- What owners' statements shownot enough owners yetOwner statementsshown when 5 or more owners agree
Scale and direction
How much SM Energy Company produces, and which way it is moving
Barrels, all leases, each bar the 12 months ending in that year's latest month, whole lease.
- Oil: 33,439,023 barrels in the 12 months to Jul 2026, −14.2% on the 12 months before.
- Gas: 214,331,263 mcf, −2.1% on the year before.
- Gas disposition: 0.4% of the gas it disposed of in the last 12 months was reported vented or flared.
- Source: Railroad Commission of Texas, Production Data Query, file dated Sep 18, 2026. Open the source.
Leases gained and left
Leases SM Energy Company took over and passed on, last 24 months
Gained (0)
None in the last 24 months.
Left (27)
- Galvan RanchWebb County · District 01, lease 288443 · reported under another operator after Feb 2026
- Galvan RanchWebb County · District 01, lease 288273 · reported under another operator after Feb 2026
- Galvan RanchWebb County · District 01, lease 279364 · reported under another operator after Feb 2026
- Galvan RanchWebb County · District 01, lease 281291 · reported under another operator after Feb 2026
- Galvan RanchWebb County · District 01, lease 281400 · reported under another operator after Feb 2026
- Galvan RanchWebb County · District 01, lease 280689 · reported under another operator after Feb 2026
Do your checks come from a different company than they did? See who took over whose leases, or read what the codes on a stub mean.
Who buys and moves its production
The companies that gather and buy SM Energy Company's oil and gas
| Company | Role | Leasesof 931 | Shareof its leases |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy Transfer Company | Gatherer, Purchaser | 860 | 92% |
| Eagle Ford Gathering LLC | Gatherer | 575 | 62% |
| Kinder Morgan Texas Pipeline LLC | Gatherer, Purchaser | 575 | 62% |
| Regency Texas Pipeline LLC | Gatherer | 564 | 61% |
| Plains Marketing, L.p. | Gatherer | 356 | 38% |
| Shell Trading (Us) Company | Gatherer | 350 | 38% |
| Harvest Marketing & Trading, LLC | Gatherer | 331 | 36% |
| Plains Pipeline L.p. | Gatherer | 219 | 24% |
Railroad Commission P-4 filings, the newest one listing gatherers and purchasers for each lease. A lease can list more than one company.
Who buys my oil and gas? takes your own lease.
What it told investors
The oil price SM Energy Company reported, next to the Texas price
| Quarter | Oil, $ a barrelcompany | Texas first purchase3-month average | Gap | Gathering, processing, transport$ a BOE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2026 (10-Q) | $96.85 | $97.46 | −$0.61 | not stated |
| Q1 2026 (10-Q) | $73.69 | $70.79 | +$2.90 | not stated |
| Q4 2025 (10-Q) | $58.17 | $58.21 | −$0.04 | not stated |
| Q3 2025 (10-Q) | n/a | $64.47 | n/a | not stated |
| Q2 2025 (10-Q) | $62.04 | $63.13 | −$1.09 | not stated |
| Q1 2025 (10-Q) | $70.56 | $70.97 | −$0.41 | not stated |
Prices exclude the effect of hedges. Sources: SEC filings, linked on each quarter, and EIA.
Drilling activity
Wells SM Energy Company has permitted
Recent drilling permits for SM Energy Company
BRISCOE R (SA44) #0179H
new drill · horizontal · SM Energy Company · Webb County
Permit 0918654 · Sep 22, 2026
BRISCOE R (SA43) #0169H
new drill · horizontal · SM Energy Company · Webb County
Permit 0918653 · Sep 18, 2026
BRISCOE R (SA41) #0159H
new drill · horizontal · SM Energy Company · Webb County
Permit 0918652 · Sep 18, 2026
BRISCOE R (SA39) #0149H
new drill · horizontal · SM Energy Company · Webb County
Permit 0918651 · Sep 18, 2026
ROHL A #311H
new drill · horizontal · SM Energy Company · Howard County
Permit 0917525 · Sep 18, 2026
BRISCOE C #0139H
new drill · horizontal · SM Energy Company · Webb County
Permit 0917813 · Aug 18, 2026
What owners' statements show
Statements from SM Energy Company owners
Be one of the five
Upload a SM Energy Company statement and it counts, without your name, toward this comparison once enough owners have done the same. Your check is free, and you can opt out in one click.
Check my statementFAQ
Questions people ask
What is on the SM Energy Company report card?
the scale and direction of its output, leases it gained and left, who buys and moves its production, the prices it told investors and its drilling permits. Each line says where it comes from: Railroad Commission records, SEC filings, or statements uploaded by owners, and there is no grade or rank.
When does SM Energy Company have to pay my royalties?
The first payment is due 120 days after the end of the month of first sale from the well. After that, payment follows your lease or written agreement, and if that is silent, no later than 60 days after the end of the month for oil and 90 days for gas (Natural Resources Code section 91.402).
Where do the owner figures come from?
From statements owners uploaded to Royalty Clerk. A figure appears only when 5 or more different owners are behind it, each owner counts once, and we show a middle value and the middle half, never one owner's line. Owners can opt out and the figures are rebuilt without them.
My check from SM Energy Company looks low. What do I do?
Upload the stub or a photo. We compare each line with the state's numbers for your lease and the Texas first purchase price for the month, and tell you what to ask SM Energy Company.
Related
Keep going
- Texas dataSM Energy Company, leases and productionEvery lease, county and field, with five years of output.
- Texas dataAll operator report cardsCompanies with enough public data or owner statements.
- ToolOperator price checkYour oil price against what Texas buyers paid and your operator's reported price.
- Texas dataTexas oil and gas atlas254 counties, every lease, operator and field.
- GuidePost-production deductionsGathering, compression, treating, processing.
- HelpTexas royalty auditThe ten checks, on your stub, against the state record.
Get checks from SM Energy Company?
Upload a stub or a phone photo. We compare every month with the state numbers for the lease and tell you what to ask.
Sources
Primary sources, opened on 29 September 2026. Statute text is the current version on statutes.capitol.texas.gov.
- Railroad Commission of Texas, Production Data Query
- Railroad Commission of Texas, data sets available for download (P-4 purchaser and gatherer filings, operator history)
- SEC EDGAR, company filings (10-K and 10-Q)
- EIA, first purchase price of Texas crude oil, monthly
- Railroad Commission of Texas, drilling permits (W-1)
- Texas Natural Resources Code §91.402, time for payment of proceeds and division orders